Please disable your Ad Blocker to better interact with this website.

Seminoles win final BCS Championship, end SEC streak


fsu2Beneath the idyllic San Gabriel Mountains in Pasadena, California’s pristine Rose Bowl stadium-setting, two college football teams from the South ended the BCS-era of NCAA football, with the Florida State Seminoles defeating the Auburn Tigers, 34-31, and ending the seven-year winning streak of the SEC.

FSU, which played in the first three BCS Championship games, garnered the Seminoles’ third NCAA Division One college football championship, and the first for Coach Jimbo Fisher. Legendary coach Bobby Bowden won the first two for the Tallahassee school in 1993 and 1999.

Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston led Florida State back from a 21-3 deficit in the first half to the national championship, becoming only the third winner of college sports’ most celebrated award to also lead his team to a #1 BCS finish; and the first freshman to do so.

G. Sand Lapper


Join the conversation!

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse.

Send this to a friend